• North American Mycological Association

    Promoting, pursuing and advancing mycology

  • Asociación Micológica de América del Norte

    Perseguir y hacer avanzar la micología

  • Association Mycologique d'Amérique du Nord

    Poursuivre et faire progresser la mycologie

2010 Contest Winners

Here are the winners from 2010. Many thanks to those who entered — your work is awesome.


Chris Matherly Leotia viscosa

First place: Chris Matherly, Leotia viscosa

Akanthomyces aculeate

Second place: Akanthomyces aculeate, by Todd Elliott

Auricularia auricula

Third place: Auricularia auricula, by Todd Elliott

Amanita muscaria

Honorable mention: Brian Zimmar, Amanita muscaria

Morchella esculenta

Honorable mention: Chris Matherly, Morchella esculenta

Coprinellus disseminatus

Honorable mention: Charles Fonaas, Coprinellus disseminatus



Agaricus abruptibulbus

First place: Agaricus abruptibulbus by Charles Fonaas

Laccaria ochropurpurea

Second place: Laccaria ochropurpurea by Charles Fonaas

Tuber species

Third place: Tuber sp. by Todd Elliott

Boletus frostii

Honorable mention: Boletus frostii by Chris Matherly

Todd Elliott Cantharellus lateritius

Honorable mention: Todd Elliott, Cantharellus lateritius

Lactarius hygrophoroides

Honorable mention: Todd Elliott, Lactarius hygrophoroides

Judge's Option

Morchella esculenta

First Place: Chris Matherly Morchella esculenta

Bite Me

Second place: Bite Me, by Steve Carmichael

Lactarius sp with tree frog

Third place: Lactarius sp with tree frog, by Kathy Yerich

back to top back to top