• North American Mycological Association

    Promoting, pursuing and advancing mycology

  • Asociación Micológica de América del Norte

    Perseguir y hacer avanzar la micología

  • Association Mycologique d'Amérique du Nord

    Poursuivre et faire progresser la mycologie

2015 Contest Winners

Here are the winners we unveiled at the NAMA Blue Ridge Foray! Thanks to all who entered, and to John Plischke III who ran the contest. To see a slideshow with a sample of each entrant's work and all the honorable mentions, follow this link...


 Walt Sturgeon Exsudoporus frostii

First place:  Exsudoporus frostii, by Walt Sturgeon.

Brian Looney Hygrocybe cuspidata

Second place: Hygrocybe cuspidata, by Brian Looney.

Boletus morisii, by The 3 Foragers

Third place: Strobilomyces floccupus, by Robert Gergulics


Mary Smiley Boletus rubricitrinus

First place: Boletus rubricitrinus, by Mary Smiley

Michael Beug  Sarcomyxa sp nov (DNA near S. serotina)

Second place: Sarcomyxa sp nov (DNA near S. serotina), by Michael Beug

Dianna Smith Lactifluus corrugis

Third place: Lactifluus corrugis, by Dianna Smith


Judge's Option

Linda Sears Bowing_Geisha_Ganoderma

First place: Bowing Geisha Ganoderma, by Linda Sears

Robert Solem Strobilomyces sp,  PACMAN

Second place: Strobilomyces sp PACMAN, by Robert Solem


Third Place: Morchella Mel-19, by Michael Beug.

back to top back to top